PM 55 (approx 1990)

Gestart door mingualez, april 05, 2011, 15:38:35

Vorige topic - Volgende topic

mingualez

Firstly I must appologise for writing in English!! :lol:

I have a PM55 amp. Which I have just got out of storage to try to fix. It sometimes works then makes clicking noise through speakers. Then fuses.And sometimes will not work again for a few days!! I have read this is someting to do with the relays that chorode.

I am a novice with electronics so please be easy with me  :lol: How do I identify the relays to clean up. Or do you guys perhaps have another solution.

Big thanks in advance!!! Lee

jrm

Welcome mingualez,

Do you live in the Netherlands?
If you do so, then you can contact our friend and master fixer HAL9000!

He knows a lot about Marantz and he fixed mine 2226B very well!

mingualez

Sadly no!! I'm trying to fix myself as the service cost out ways the value!! Thanks for your time.

I'm in the UK.

mars

stupid

Open up youre amp put it on power , and then switch the selector ( DON'T TOUCH ANYTHING WHEN OPEN) , usualy you can see the relays working ( were the clicking noise is coming from)

Sorry for my poor english , its better for me to speak youre lanquage

grtz  Mars
Marantz PM17 pm82 pm8000,creek evo,classe cap101-cap151,naim nait 5i +verschillende nac en nap's
Sugden Mystro , octave , kanzy , blumenhofer ,
belachelijk veel bekabeling.
nu;
Valve Audio Predator
mc-sytems
Rega CDP
denon
Oyaida , furutech , pink faun

mars

edit ; i mean , don't touch anything inside when the amp is open
Marantz PM17 pm82 pm8000,creek evo,classe cap101-cap151,naim nait 5i +verschillende nac en nap's
nu;
Valve Audio Predator
mc-sytems
Rega CDP
denon

mingualez

Hey mars thanks. You write better english than me  :wink:. I will try this. If you don't hear from me again it may mean I have electricuted myself LOL. :-D

mars

stupid

I really don't hope to see the famous mushroom cloud above the   UK :schater: when you open up youre amp !!!
nu;